Three Dr. Loosen Rieslings Receive Decanter Asia Wine Awards

We are honored to announce that three of our Rieslings were chosen for the inaugural Decanter Asia Wine awards this week!

Dr. L Riesling 2011 – Silver Best Value.

Dr. Loosen’s non-estate wine embodies the elegant and racy style of classic Mosel Riesling. It is refreshing and fruity, with a fine mineral edge that is typical of the region. Dr. L Riesling is made with fruit that comes exclusively from traditional vineyards with steep slopes and slate soil. By working closely with local growers on long-term contract, brothers Ernst and Thomas Loosen are able to maintain excellent quality in every vintage. Dr. L Riesling is bottled with a screwcap to avoid cork problems and to preserve freshness. Learn more.

Dr. Loosen Wehlener Sonnenuhr Riesling Kabinett 2011 – Silver

This precipitously steep and rocky vineyard (VAY-len-er ZON-en-ooer) yields some of the most elegant and sophisticated white wines in the world. The classic blue slate soil gives the wine a delicate, crisp acidity that perfectly balances the pure peach and lemon fruit. The hallmarks of the 2011 vintage are purity and balance. Ideal weather during harvest produced wines with an enormous fruit aroma and a dense texture. It’s a charming wine that dances gracefully on the palate. Learn more.

Dr. Loosen Ürziger Würzgarten Riesling Auslese 2010 – Bronze

Blazing red and insanely steep, the Ürziger Würzgarten (ERTS-ih-ger VERTS-gar-ten) vineyard fills the amphitheater formed by this bend in the river. It produces wines with exotic, spicy aromas bursting with tropical fruit flavors. The estate’s oldest vines are found here. The 2010 Ürziger Würzgarten Auslese is lush and ripe, with complex layers of peach, apple and citrus. Its full, fruit-driven sweetness is held together by intensely taut, racy acidity characteristic of this vintage. Learn more.

The first Decanter Asia Wine Awards, a sister competition to the Decanter World Wine Awards, attracted 2,249 wines from 42 wine regions.

The wines were judged in Hong Kong in September by a team of Asia’s leading experts under the joint chairmanship of Steven Spurrier and Jeannie Cho Lee MW, and vice chairs Gerard Basset MS MW, CH’NG Poh Tiong, Michael Hill-Smith MW AM, Andrew Jefford, and Shinya Tasaki.